Kristin Callan November 25, 2014 • Swizznet Knowledge Base / Tips & Tricks
To ensure the integrity and protection of your data and provide you with true disaster recovery, all files on Swizznet are mirrored between two SSAE16 certified data centers in geographically diverse locations. In addition, all live files on Swizznet are backed up via redundant backup systems which mirror the backup sets to both data centers. We can retrieve backups of your files from 30 minutes up to 1 year ago.
Starting January 1, 2014 all QuickBooks backup files (.QBB file extension) on your Swizznet storage drive that are 30 days old or older will be automatically deleted from the system. No other file extensions will be affected. All of your live data (.QBW's, PDF's, etc) will remain untouched.
If you would like to keep your .QBB files for long term storage on Swizznet you may purchase storage at $5 per 5 GB of data storage. To enroll in this program, please submit a support request and our support team can assist you with designating which .QBB files you do not want deleted.
If you would like to move any QB backups down to your local computer for long-term storage between now and then, please submit a support request and our support team would be happy to assist you with this
What is a .QBB file?
A QBB file is a file manually created with QuickBooks by going to File>Create Copy and selecting full backup. Typically these files are created when moving a file or when upgrading a file.
How often will .QBB files be deleted?
We will automatically delete all .QBB files on the system that are 30 days or older.
How can I preserve .QBB files that I don't want deleted?
If you would like to keep your .QBB files you have two options. We can help you move any QBB files down to your local computer for long-term storage or you may purchase storage at $5 per 5 GB. For assistance moving files down or if you would like to purchase storage for .QBB files, please submit a support request and our support team can assist you with designating which .QBB files you do not want deleted.